If

If I ruled the universe,
And could have anything I desire,
I’d paint your nails like a nebula,
Make your hair like the stars’ fire.

I would gather all the star dust in the galaxy
And give it to you as perfume.
Weave together a sweater of comet tails,
With only imagination as my loom.

The planets would be like beads,
Forming the most beautiful necklace.
All of this I would do
Just to put a smile on your face.

Then I’d decide to propose to you,
Offering you Saturn’s ring
With diamonds made of supernovas.
You’d be my queen and I’d be your king.

I would knit together every ocean on Earth
To be your lovely, flowing dress.
And whatever else you’d want,
I’d give you all the rest.

But none of this would change a thing;
Your beauty is already unsurpassed,
Not needing help from me,
Or my gifts that you might amass.

Except that in this crazy dream,
I’d be the one who has it all.
I would finally feel worthy of you,
And maybe I could even stand tall.

But for now I’ll admire from afar,
Unable to muster the courage to confess my love.
Left alone to dream of hope,
Hoping dreams will be enough.

– A cowardly, fantasizing otter

2 thoughts on “If

  1. “Left alone to dream of hope, hoping dreams will be enough.” Shit, that’s a really good line 🙂 There’s something lucid about fantasizing about ruling the universe and having godlike powers. In every fantasy, and every dream, that’s what you in fact have. In your imagination you inhabit a world of your own creation, you can decide what is and isn’t possible, and you can do anything you choose. When you’re fantasizing about being the god of your own universe, you’re matching the substance of your fantasy to the nature of fantasy. But when you fantasize about a person, you don’t get to see the person themself, only your idea of them and what you already know about them. They can’t surprise you or contradict you anymore. And therefore: “I’d be the one who has it all.” In that way, it seems to express the powerlessness of wanting someone but being unable to pursue a relationship with them; the person unable to fulfill their wishes dreams to make their wishes meaningful. Inevitably that powerlessness leads to feelings of inferiority, even when its cause is the inability to tell the other person that you love them. The simple fact that you want to be with them and aren’t is seen as sufficient evidence that you aren’t good enough for them; it’s sad, and more than a bit irrational, but it’s true. This is another very truthful, authentic expression of a very common and terribly painful experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment